Public Records

     Massachusetts Public Records Law allows us 10 business days to respond to records requests. For complex requests, this initial response may be a fee estimate only, with another 10 business days after payment allotted to provide records.

Click to Replace
GUIDELINES:

Massachusetts Public Records Law requires us to publish a list of "Guidelines" (types of records in our custody).
The types of records in our custody include the following:
 - Call Logs - Arrest reports - Incident reports - Accident reports - Photographs -  Correspondence - Audio recordings - Video recordings - Miscellaneous case documents - Miscellaneous administrative documents & records

GREENFIELD POLICE DEPARTMENT RECORDS RELEASE POLICY:


  • By law, we are allowed 10 business days to respond to your request. Records may not be immediately available.
  • All requests are subject to approval by the Chief of Police
  • GPD complies with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Public Records Law (M.G.L. c. 4, § 7)
  • Records may be requested in person, via USPS mail, or email (preferred). We are not required by law to fulfill telephone requests.
  • We release records considered public, while applying exemptions allowed by law to protect personal privacy and public safety; therefore your request may be denied or some information may be redacted
  • Exempted material may include, but not be limited to:
    • Cases under investigation
    • Criminal records protected by CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information) statute
    • Cases involving juveniles (under age 18)
    • Information indicating the ownership or location of firearms
    • Information regarding an individual's health issues (HIPAA)
    • Confidential witness, victim, or informant data
    • Social Security numbers, dates of birth, phone numbers, etc. of involved parties
    • Information which could compromise public safety or effective law enforcement

Press Logs & Daily Police Logs:


The majority of our calls for service do not generate a written report, but are simply an entry in our logs. 

  • Our daily logs are public information (with legal exemptions). Press Logs, which are a slightly limited version of our police logs, but are rapidly available, typically contain the last 24-72 hours of police logs may be reviewed at GPD twenty fours hours a day,  free of charge.  You can view the press logs  by coming to the station and requesting to view them.  Please allow our staff time to print the logs.
  • Press logs we make immediately available for public review must remain in the station at all times.
  • Full Police Daily Logs, or complex requests for multiple entries are subject to the ten business day work time allotted by Mass. Public Records Law and legal expemptions.

Incident & Arrest Reports:
 
Incident and arrest report requests may take up to 10 business days to process and release upon the close of the investigation.  All release of incident and arrest reports are subject to approval of the chief of police in accordance to Massachusetts Public Records Law.  If approved, the report you receive may have some information redacted.  With some exceptions, a fee set by the Massachusetts law is charged for reports. 


Car Crash Reports:

When Must a Crash Report be filed with the Registrar? M.G.L. Chapter 90, Section 26 requires a person who was operating a motor vehicle involved in a crash in which (i) any person was killed or (ii) injured or (iii) in which there was damage in excess of $1,000 to any one vehicle or other property, to complete and file a Crash Operator Report with the Registrar within five (5) days after such crash (unless the person is physically incapable of doing so due to incapacity). The person completing the report must also send a copy of the report to the police department having jurisdiction on the way where the crash occurred. If the operator is incapacitated but is not the vehicle's owner, the owner is required to file the crash report within the five (5) days based on his/her knowledge and information obtained about the crash. The Registrar may require the owner or operator to supplement the report and he/she can revoke or suspend the license of any person violating any provision of this legal requirement. A police department is required to accept a report filed by an owner or operator whose vehicle has been damaged in a crash in which another person unlawfully left the scene even if damage to the vehicle does not exceed $1,000.
You can obtain a copy of the Massachusetts Crash Report by following this link:  http://www.massrmv.com/Portals/30/docs/21278.pdf

Information Exchange Form


Contains the information you need about the other drivers, in order to complete the required Operator’s Crash Report

  • There is no charge for the Information Exchange Form
  • May be picked up at the Greenfield Police Station usually within 72 hours of your accident
  • If you live far away, you may call and ask that it be mailed to you


Obtaining a Copy of the Police Report:

You can get a free copy of all our accident reports by visiting: 
www.crashdocs.org
Contact:

Please email records requests to:  Records@Greenfieldpd.org
or contact the following (in preferred order):

Records Clerk:
Gillian Halkett
321 High St.
Greenfield, Ma 01301
(413) 773-5411 ext: 1321

Court Records:
Attorney Jeffrey Bengtson
321 High St
Greenfield, Ma 01301
(413) 773-5411 ext: 1301

Supervisor of Records:
William R Gordon
Lieutenant
321 High St
Greenfield, Ma 01301
(413) 773-5411 ext 1313

Records Access Officer:
Robert H. Haigh Jr.
Chief of Police
321 High st.
Greenfield, Ma 01301
(413) 773-5411 ext 1304
The City of Greenfield is an Equal Opportunity Employer